A blog for the New Zealand creative advertising industry, now at www.campaignbrief.com/nz. Email news to: michael@campaignbrief.com

Tuesday, April 01, 2008


The 49th Annual Clio Awards today announced the complete international jury for the 2008 Technique category, which includes three Kiwis - Josh Frizzell from Curious, Jim Hall from Soundtrax (pictured at the CB Legendary Lunch) and Jonny Kofoed from Oktobor - and one Kiwi expat: Paul Middleditch from Plaza Films, Sydney.
This jury evaluates a range of techniques involved in the making of ads, including areas such as direction, cinematography, animation and visual effects, editing and music/sound design. All awards will be announced and presented at the 2008 Clio Festival, May 14-17, in South Beach.


• Dante Ariola (jury chair), director, MJZ, Los Angeles, CA, USA
• Antoine Bardou Jacquet, director, Partizan, Paris, France
• Josh Frizzell, director, Curious Films, Auckland, New Zealand
• Kim Geldenhuys, director, Egg Films, Cape Town, South Africa
• Paul Middleditch, director, Plaza Films, Sydney, Australia
• Prasoon Pandey, director, Corcoise Films Pvt. Ltd., Mumbai, India
• Luciano Podcaminsky, director, Rebolucion & @radical.media, Buenos Aires, Argentina
• Gerard de Thame, director, Gerard de Thame Films, London, UK
• Peter Thwaites, director, Gorgeous Enterprises, London, UK

• Pierre Buffin, founder & president, BUF Compagnie Parigi, Paris, France
• Ben Cronin, flame artist/VFX supervisor, Framestore-CFC, London, UK
• Nickson Fong, CEO/filmmaker, Egg Story Creative Productions, Singapore
• Pasi Johansson, managing director, STO.PP stockholm.postproduktion, Stockholm, Sweden
• Jonny Kofoed, head of motion & design, Oktobor, Auckland, New Zealand
• Todd Mueller, creative director/co-founder, Psyop, New York, NY, USA
• Chris O'Reilly, executive producer, Nexus Productions, London, UK
• Johnnie Semerad, creative director, Semerad, New York, NY, USA
• E. Suresh, creative director, Famous House of Animation, Mumbai, India
• Achim August Tietz, managing director/technical director, Aixsponza, Munich, Germany
• Stuart White, head of 3D, Fin Design & Effects, Sydney, Australia

• Christoph Blaser, composer/producer/CEO, Largoland Musicproduction, Berlin, Germany
• Drazen Bosnjak, creative director/composer/sound designer, Q Department, New York, NY, USA
• Michelle Curran, president, Amber Music, London, UK and New York, NY, USA
• Tom Eymundson, partner/director, Pirate Radio & Television, Toronto, Canada
• Rennie Gomes, composer/managing director, Yellow Box Studios, Singapore
• Jim Hall, musician composer, Soundtrax, Auckland, New Zealand
• Jason Johnson, creative director/composer, Stimmung, Santa Monica, CA, USA
• Eddie Kim, sound designer, 740 Sound Design, Santa Monica, CA, USA
• Lorens Persson, managing director, Sterling Sound, Randburg, South Africa
• Josh Rabinowitz, senior vice president, director of music, Grey Worldwide, New York, NY, USA
• Mark Rivett, senior partner/musical director, Song Zu, Sydney, Australia
• Jack Sedgwick, senior sound engineer, Wave Recording Studios, London, UK
• Joel Simon, president/CEO, JSM Music, New York, NY, USA
• Geert van Gaalen, composer/sound designer, Studio De Keuken/Dangerous Kitchen Music, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

• Ricky Boyd, editor, Deliverance Post Production, Cape Town, South Africa
• Gavin Cutler, editor/founding partner, Mackenzie Cutler, New York, NY, USA
• Steve Gandolfi, managing director/editor, Cut & Run Limited, London, UK
• Adam Liebowitz, president/editor, Go Robot!, New York, NY, USA
• Sherri Margulies, editor, Crew Cuts, New York, NY, USA
• Nelson Ng, editor, Touches, Hong Kong
• John Smith, editor, The Whitehouse, London, UK
• Drew Thompson, editor, Guillotine Pty Ltd., Sydney, Australia
• Tim Thornton-Allan, editor/owner, Marshall Street Editors, London, UK
• Angus Wall, editor, Rock Paper Scissors, Santa Monica, CA, USA

The 49th Annual Clio Awards will be presented during the 2008 Clio Festival, May 14-17 at the Gansevoort South Hotel in South Beach. Delegates made up of advertising and design creatives from around the world will attend an array of exciting events, including the Festival Opening Cocktail Party, the annual Lifetime Achievement Award Dinner Gala (this year honoring Marcello Serpa, partner and general creative director, AlmapBBDO, São Paulo, Brazil), The Saatchi & Saatchi Hero Show, the 2008 Clio Future Gold | Young Creatives Program, daytime sessions featuring creative leaders from around the world, TV/Cinema/Digital, Print, Radio and Interactive Shortlist areas presented by Sands Research, Inc., evening parties and two Awards Galas announcing 2008 winners, Advertiser of the Year and Agency/Network/Production Company of the Year at the Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater.


Anonymous Jim Hall said...

Thanks for the photo Lynchy. I think it truly captures my manly, vagabond vibe, Jim

9:39 PM NZDT

Anonymous Anonymous said...

That pic rocks Jim, although not as much as you dressed up as Mickey Mouse at a Christmas party a few years ago.

1:38 PM NZDT


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home